Range Day 2015 Ep. 6

With the good result from the 6.5×06 and continuing good weather, I wanted to make another trip to the range on Sunday.  So I quickly loaded up some ammo.  I loaded the gun I had shot previously (I will call this one the heavy barrel) and another one also in 6.5×06 (the lightweight).  Hoping I could find a single load that would shoot in both guns.

  • Started out at 100 yards with good result from from the lightweight 6.5×06.  Then problems with the ammo for the next group.  Excessive pressure.  So I stopped.
  • Went to 200 yds with the heavy barrel and the loads that shot well the previous day.  First group, not good at all.  Second group – same problem as the light weight.  Excessive pressure.  Again, full stop.
  • I did have along another gun that I was able to sight in – an AR-10 in 308 sporting a Lilja barrel.  Lilja products shoot!  Just enough rounds to break the gun in and then I was shooting on paper.  At 100 yards, with only a 4x scope, shot just over 1/2 inch (.503 to be exact).  So the trip was not all a waste.

On the drive home I realized my mistake.  I try to double check all loads and powders before I load a batch of ammo.  But I think I confused my powders numbers – Vihtavuori  150 instead of 160.  Luckily a few ruined cases was the only result.  So more reloading and waiting for more nice weather.

Leave a comment