Range Day 2015 Ep.4

Weather provided for an excellent day for testing.  As noted earlier, my local range only goes to 200 yards.  But there was almost no wind when I arrived at the range.  So the initial testing was focused at 200 yards.  As the day progressed, winds did pick up.  But the temperatures stayed in the mid to upper 70’s.  Again a mixed bag of results

  • Wrapped up testing of the 300 Win Mag prone rifle.  Shot 2 groups at 200 yards that were both impressive.  These 2 loads have preformed well on several occasions.  So I will load a few roads and just enjoy shooting this rifle.  Hopefully can do some longer range testing with this rifle later in the year.
  • Other testing at 200 yards was not as successful.  Wind was not to blame.  Neither the 6mm/250 or the 260 AR platform rifles are performing consistently.  Last week the 6mm/250 shot 3 excellent groups at 100 yds.  Not one of those carried through to 200 yards.  I am using fire formed cases and am wondering if that may be causing a few issues.  At this point I may wait until I can get the cases annealed before doing any further testing.   Inconsistent neck tensions maybe causing part of my problems.  Over the winter, I changed the upper receiver on the 260 AR to a supposed better quality piece which matches the lower.  Since then, it has not shown the same performance.  So I may look at the barrel nut/tension on the new upper.  I should know better than to change something that is working!
  • More rounds through the 7.62×40 Wilson.  No break through.  I keep working on a Nosler 125 gr/A1680 combination.  I am right around 1″ at 100 yards.  No bad, but I would like to find a little more accuracy.  Plus, every trip to the range gives me a chance to fire form more cases.
  • Had time to load a few round using the new Sierra 69 gr TMK.  Shot these through a Ruger American Rifle just to see how they perform is a factory rifle (with 1 in 8 inch twist).  This rifle had actually done quite well  in the past with the Sierra 77gr MKHP.  So I knew I could expect groups well under 1 inch.  A base line load of Varget proved that these bullets will perform in the Ruger (one group about .800).  I will see what a hotter load will do.  But with the short magazine, not sure how much more powder I can fit in that case!

Leave a comment