6mmx250 Load Development

imageimageI finally had enough fire formed cases to begin load development for this case and rifle.  As you can see this is really an “improved” round with a very sharp shoulder.  Case volume is very similar to a 243 Win.  With a custom round like this, I had very little loading data to start from. So I had to do some interpretations to get starting points.  I wanted to make use of the case, so I am working with the Sierra 107gr HPMK bullets for this round of tests.

To make this development even more complicated, I needed a load that would consistently function the action on the rifle.  The gas system is even longer than a traditional rifle length.

I started working with a few loads listed on the Hodgdon reloading data site.  Varget seemed like a nice place to start.  Good flexible powder, with good temperature stability. My testing environment was low 50s, so I did not want to develop a load that would show sign of pressure in the summer heat.  I slowly worked up the powder charge seeing sizable gains in velocity.  I noticed this cartridge really does have an incredible case volume.  Powder charges started to approach 243 Winchester loads.   Maximum velocity I achieved was 2904 fps with no signs of pressure.  After that, I was burning more powder without any increase in velocity. But the action would not cycle fully.

image

So on to the next powder – Hodgdon Hybrid  100V.  Nice jump in velocity, not so nice jump in pressure.  I could not find a balance.  A safe load gave me a velocity of 3077 fps, but would not cycle the action.  Only when the pressure was high enough to piece primers did I get the gun to function reliably.

So I went and reviewed the powder burn rate chart to find a powder that may develop a different pressure curve than those listed on the Hodgon site.  The next to be tested:

Winchester 760 looked like the next candidate, only to fail like Varget.  No signs of pressure, but still not the right combination to function the action.  Finally velocity – 3015 fps.

Vihtavuori  N160 was next.  Right away I could tell there was a difference in the cycling of the action.  Working my way up I found I could cycle the action well before any signs of pressure.  Maximum velocity –   3081 fps

Vihtavuori  N560.  Had to try this for fun.  Load data very similar to the N160 for most other calibers, but results in a slightly high velocity.  Well, no luck here.  Only got to 3017 fps and did not cycle the action

So I now have a base line for a trip to range.  Have several different powder charges of VV N160 to try.  Hopefully we will get some encouraging results.

Leave a comment