Range Day 2015 Ep.2

Extra warm weather for this time of the year, mid 70s.  Wind was variable which made shooting a timing game.  Was much a repeat of the previous episode.

  • Fire forming – Will be doing this for some time.  Was a bit of a drain by the end of today.  But it is good filler to let barrels cool.  Now I have a nice batch of formed cases to begin load development for both the  7.62×40 Wilson and the 6mm/250.
  • Small load and accuracy test with the 7.62×40 Wilson.  Just max loads with 2 powders.  Did not see anything to get excited about.  Still in the early phases with the round and this barrel.  I now have a good amount of fire formed cases and can load a better assortment for the next test.
  • No better results from the 6×223 with the 75 gr bullet.  I even took of the muzzle break off just to rule it out.  I had one group the was right around 1 inch at 100 yds.  Everything else was not even worth documenting.  I have plenty of velocity to stabilize these bullets.  I think I need to check the throat and see if I have too much bullet jump.  Otherwise, I may try a few lighter loads and see what happens.
  • Took several loads to confirm them before loading a large batch.  Neither of them performed as well as they have in the past.  So  I am looking through my loading process.  I am beginning to question my beam scale.  I think I will run some tests to ensure I get consistent results from the scale before I do more range testing.  I may weigh loads on two scales and see if there is any variation in readings.
  • Declared one gun a basket case. Followed every one of my steps.  It will not shoot anything resembling a group.  Just all over the place.  So at some point, a new barrel will be installed.  Any suggestions for a Magnum Bolt face?  Already have a 300 Win Mag and have no interest in getting any 7mm Mags.

Well it is now time to clean some guns and get a new set of loads ready to test.  I am suspect of the fliers I saw in the groups I shot today.  All loads will be repeated, with the powder charges weighed on an electronic scale as verification.  Want to see if I can blame those pesky fliers on inconsistent powder charges.

Leave a comment